Miss Merton’s Last Hope

Miss Mayhem, book four

What dream would you deny yourself for the one you adored?

Over the years, Melanie Merton has used every trick and ruse to repel overeager gentlemen callers without ever revealing the real reason she won’t say yes to an offer of marriage. When neighbor Walter George jumps to her defense against slurs cast by suitor number twelve, he also pries into her past—uncovering the circumstances around a tragic loss in her childhood and her aversion to being touched by anyone. But even protective Walter must be kept at a distance for his own good, because despite a growing attraction between them, Melanie must deny him too.

Unlike other men his age in Brighton, Walter George hadn’t considered Melanie Merton for a wife because he was convinced he’d never have a chance to impress his haughty neighbor. But that was before he understood her better, before he uncovered why she kept friends and suitors alike at bay. The right husband could restore the woman he sees into some semblance of the fun-loving child of his memory, but would Walter stand a chance or become just another unlucky suitor?

Miss Merton’s Last Hope is a steamy regency historical romance novella. It is the final book in the Miss Mayhem series but can be read as a standalone.

Purchase direct from Heather


Purchase from Retailers

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon CA Amazon AU

Apple Books Barnes and Noble Google Play Kobo

Paperback Edition

Books-a-Million Bookshop.org Powell’s Waterstones Booktopia

Readers: Add the book to your Goodreads TBR Shelf.

Book Info

Publish Date: October 2015
Digital ISBN: 978-1-925239-09-6
Paperback ISBN: 978-1-925239-10-2
Genre: Regency Historical Romance

Related Books

Miss Mayhem Series
1. Miss Watson’s First Scandal – Abigail and David
2. Miss George’s Second Chance – Imogen and Peter
3. Miss Radley’s Third Dare – Julia and Valentine
4. Miss Merton’s Last Hope – Melanie and Walter

Follow by Email
Copy link